Google automatically deletes Android backup for all devices that have been left unused for two months
Android users have the tendency to backup their files such as contacts, pictures, and any other information that they consider important in the Google Drive of their phones. However, as soon as they switch off their phone and stop using it for a week or two, Google starts alerting them through notifications.
It may not seem as a big deal, but many users tend to avoid reading the notifications and wake up one day with all their data gone. For example, one Reddit user had posted that Google simply deleted all his data with no prior notification. However, that is very unlikely. Google must have notified him, but just as many other users, he probably never imagined that his entire data will simply vanish in a glance. He further reported that he did not use his device for a couple of months, and that’s when Google decided tot take action.
Google writes in its data backup policy that “Your backup will remain as long as you use your device. If you don’t use your device for 2 weeks, you may see an expiration date below your backup.” When a device is unused for two weeks, Google drive will show an expiration date below the files. That’s because Google desperately wants you to use the device.
The bad news is that after the data is deleted, there is no way of getting it back. Bottom line is: users are strongly encouraged to use their devices.