Trump’s travel ban takes effect

Citizens from 6 Muslim countries as well as all refugees can be denied entry visa in the U.S.

As a consequence of the order, all people without family and businesses inside the U.S. are at risk to be denied entry. Nevertheless, the decision does not affect people already in possession of valid visas or green cards.

The order, a key part of President Donald Trump’s policy, makes an exception for those having “a credible claim of a bona fide relationship” with a U.S. citizen, like a close relative, including fiancés. Despite this decision, second degree relatives are not considered “bona fide”.

The countries affected by the ban are: Iran, Libya, Syria, Somalia, Sudan and Yemen. All refugees must also comply with the latest regulation.

The American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) will be the authority monitoring the order’s implementation, as the final decision will be taken by the Supreme Court in the fall.

The ban will be valid for the next 90 days for people from the aforementioned countries and for 120 days for all refugees.

The US President insisted on the ban’s necessity due to violent attacks in European cities, such as Paris, London, Brussels and Berlin. Meanwhile, his critics consider the measure to be Islamophobic and ask for it to be lifted.